A Different Opinion of Guardians of the Galaxy

I was very excited for Guardians of the Galaxy after Marvel’s previous films and after watching a few reviews. As always with excitement comes expectation which was set very high. A lot of people claimed that this film was hilarious and that the superheroes were brilliant. I hate to do this, but I disagree, completely.

After watching the film with my parents they asked if “I liked it or found it funny”, this was after they had told me how amusing they found it, and I said “no, it wasn’t very intelligent humour”. That wasn’t verbatim, but it was something along those lines. This was of great shock to me and I’m sure to them. This is because I’ve loved all of the previous Marvel superhero films, with the omission of Thor: The Dark World, and they’ve liked them. I’d expect myself to find the slapstick comedy more humorous than my parents would, but maybe not.

There was something about the humour, despite it being arguably better than the humour in The Avengers or Captain America: The Winter Soldier, that I didn’t like. I think I can nail it down to two reasons. The first one being that they over did it, I think they tried too hard to make it funny and at times it felt silly in a very, very annoying way like Alvin and the Chipmunks. My second reason is that I’ve become spoilt with the rather intelligent humour found in the TV series Frasier which I’ve recently been watching, quite a bit. Perhaps, I’ve become too snobby about what I laugh at, but I’ve always preferred intelligent humour to the cheap slapstick approach.

I did enjoy the rest of the movie for the most part, although I felt that there was a lot of ambiguity, for instance who is this villain and why does he want to do this? Also, I felt that the characters whilst likeable were a bit weak and undeveloped. Maybe, my dislike towards the humour is tainting my view on the rest of the film, but it’s hard for it not to when the humour is thrown in your face constantly.

I know a lot of people won’t like this viewpoint, but an opinion is an opinion and I’ve even put the word “opinion” in the title. I’m also sure that there will be some that will agree and that’s great.

Leave a Reply

