Update 2.0

cropped-cropped-ver-2.jpgHello! Welcome to update 2.0 which isn’t really as major or fancy as it sounds because all the big changes have already happened, but I still want to go over them for a brief moment and then go on to explain the future of the channel. The stuff that has already changed, as I’m sure you’re aware of if you’ve watched any of my recent videos, is the logo, the intro, outro and general tweaks to the design of the channel. So far the reception has been positive, although I would like to hear more of your opinions on the updates, so comment away.

But that’s not really what this blog is about, that’s stuff of the past. So let’s talk about what’s happening. I’ve always faced this dilemma: ever since the beginning of this channel, I’ve always been at school and obviously I need to prioritise my education. Now that doesn’t mean that I don’t respect all of you guys for watching my videos or that I don’t care for the channel, instead it means that I need to strike a balance between my education and YouTube. YouTube is something I enjoy doing and I may have already said this before, but I’d like to say it now, YouTube isn’t something I’d like to pursue for the rest of my life.

There are a lot of fantastic YouTubers who make a good living from it and I’ve actually done a video on this exact topic called “The benefits and drawbacks of YouTube”, but for me it’s not the path I want to take. Yeah, it would be fun to do along the side, even if it makes revenue it’s just not something I want to do as a career per se. I talk about this in more detail in that video I just mentioned.

homepage-feature-03The point is I’m studying for computer science, ie I’m taking the A level courses that will help me to do computer science at university. This is my plan (the optimal result). I’m not 100% sure on which aspect of computer science I will venture, but I just love the workings of computers. For now it means that I’ve got to spend a considerable amount of time studying which ultimately means a far less frequent timeline of videos. There may be spots of time were there won’t be videos so I’d like to make you guys aware of that. I’m sure you’ve already experienced it  and when I have been vacant people haven’t broken out WW3 so I’m sure people won’t cry “Is he dead?”.

I have no concrete times of when I can and can’t produce videos yet, but if you follow me on twitter @mrbeady9 you will receive updates on stuff, yeah! This will probably last for two years because A levels consist of two years: AS and A2, but don’t fret as I assure you when I have the time I will produce high quality videos. I’ve got videos planned, but no products to review, actually I have an interesting review coming. However, I would really like to strike a deal with some companies and get some review products in.

This blog post is actually an adaptation of a script for a video soon to be released on this topic so it didn’t include any information about the blog and so I thought I’d add some seeing as this is the blog. The blog will most likely benefit from this if anything because many of my video ideas will likely turn into blog posts as I won’t have time to record, edit and upload them. So good news for you guys!

Before, I end I’d just like to mention that we’re at 247 subscribers which isn’t bad, but I’m still not satisfied and I think if I put a lot of effort in we can reach a thousand by mid next year. I think this year hasn’t been groundbreaking, thank god we can still walk, but I think there was definitely a halo period during summer where I was pushing videos out like there was no tomorrow and the analytics show that periods like that are the best in terms of growth.

I’d also like to thank you for supporting me and watching the videos and I believe they we can really build something truly exceptional here and I say WE, because it’s not just about me and my channel. In a sense it really is our channel, a joint effort, because without you guys this channel wouldn’t exist. It would just a be a place with a few videos with no interaction and I’m sure some of the videos wouldn’t even exist because I wouldn’t have the inspiration to create them without you guys. I really mean it, thank you so very much, and I say it a lot, but I’ll say it again, thank you. Once more for luck, thank you. This video has been a bit longer than I anticipated, but know you know the full(ish) roadmap for the channel.

This is update 2.0, the next step forward.

2 thoughts on “Update 2.0

Leave a Reply

